Comparative graph
Fact sheet
About us
Bookmark and Share
  change font size تصغير الخط تكبير الخط print
Home » Public statements »

UN Association of Australia - Media Awards 2014 - Winners Announced


[27 October 2014] - ABC’s Four Corners documentary – Stone Cold Justice – has won in two categories at the annual United Nations Association of Australia’s media awards (UNAA). The awards, which have been described as Australia’s “Oscars” for human rights journalism, were announced in Melbourne on 24 October. Stone Cold Justice won in the categories of best TV Documentary and Increasing Awareness and Understanding of Children’s Rights and Issues (John Lyons, Janine Cohen and Sylvie LeClezio).

In a statement issued by the event organisers, Stone Cold Justice was described as follows:  “Internationally, attention was drawn to the policy of fear and intimidation used by the Israeli army in targeting Palestinian children. The documentary-award winning ABC TV Four Corners program focused on children’s rights, and was sensitive and respectful. Produced with The Australian newspaper, the program caused an international storm.”
Stone Cold Justice has also been nominated for one of Australia’s top journalist awards (The Walkley Awards) for best investigative journalism (John Lyons, Janine Cohen, Sylvie Le Clezio and Mary Fallon, Four Corners, ABC TV, and The Australian). The winners will be announced on 4 December 2014 in Sydney.